Closing Words: Sarah

Overall, the course was the opportunity of a lifetime. I was able help spread awareness about Type II Diabetes while living in the most amazingly beautiful place. Being on Eleuthera and working with the people on the family island was awesome. They were so receptive and attentive to us and appreciative that we had taken the time out of our lives to travel to Eleuthera and help them. There was never a dull moment working with the kids. I loved running around and playing with the kids outside. They couldn’t keep their hands off of us! Through the course of the month we were responsible for so much- wellness fairs, presentations, service projects, etc. and yet we still found time to experience the beauty of the Bahamas. Days were long and busy traveling from school to school, but I wouldn’t have changed it for anything. To future students, I would encourage them to expect nothing and not be afraid to throw yourself out there and get the most out of your experience. I learned how important taking care of yourself is and how important it is to take care of those around you that you care about. I am far from perfect and want to change my lifestyle for the better.