Closing Words: Kendra

I cannot explain or describe well enough how incredibly amazing this course was, it was honestly the best month of my life and I already wish I was back because I miss it so much. Academically, I learned so much in terms of the nursing and teaching elements, and I learned a lot about the Bahamian culture. In my exploration experiences, I learned a lot about myself and feel I have grown as a person for the better, from those experiences. Some of my top and most favorite highlights from the trip was probably visiting the glass window, scuba diving, the home-stay visit, Junior Junkanoo and the wellness fairs, specifically the one we had at the baseball game in Rock Sound. They were by far the most beautiful and fun experiences I had on the entire trip.

One of the best things about the trip that I liked was meeting all these new people who taught me so much and knew so much. It was the most interesting and memorable experiences I had during this trip, because those stories I was told by various people, will stick with me for the rest of my life. I learned to take chances and risks by doing something new or out of your comfort zone. I learned that material things in life are not important but the relationships you build with people are. I learned to be more laid-back and worry less about the little things that don’t really matter in the long run.

For future students who decide to take this course, I would say that come into this entire month with no preconceptions because then you can experience everything fully and go into everything with a positive attitude and open mind, because I found that made my experience that much better. I also would says take every opportunity you are given, because the ones you are usually unsure about tend to be the best experiences. Lastly, I would say to future students, have fun and enjoy yourself and everything you do because it is gone before you know it and it is an experience you will always miss and want to go back to.

I learned a lot about myself during this experience that allowed me to grow as a person. I found out that I am happiest when I am relaxed and more laid back, and that it is important not to stress out or worry about small things because I found out, those things I thought were important are actually not important at all. Another thing I learned about myself after doing this course is that I want to be a travel nurse or I want to do my practice in another country for a few years. I loved the people I was working with and I loved learning about the different culture and people I worked with. I also learned that I want to become a certified scuba diver, something I thought I would never do. There are so many more things I have learned and I loved every opportunity and experience I had, that I could go on about each one in detail but instead

I’d like to wrap up by saying, this was by far the best month of my life and I would like to thank everyone who made this experience possible. Now onto my next adventure, nursing school!

