Katie Hurliman: Introduction

Hey everyone!  My name is Katie Hurliman and I am currently a senior at Linfield College.  I am studying general science and plan to pursue a career in optometry.  I grew up in the small town of Tillamook, OR, where my parents own a dairy farm.  I have two younger sisters and a younger brother, and two wonderful parents, as well as our kitty, Tiger J.  I have worked at a power company for the last four years as a flagger/utility worker.  In my free time I love hanging out with my friends and family, spending time outdoors and in the water (wakeboarding is my favorite), and reading.

I always enjoyed growing up in a small town and having all my relatives close by, so when it came time to choose where to attend college, Linfield seemed like the perfect fit!  It was close to home (but still far enough away), had the wonderful sense of a small town community, and a gorgeous campus, as well as many other perks I have since discovered.  It’s hard to imagine that was nearly four years, and I’m now close to graduating!

I had always wanted to study abroad, but never dreamt it would become a reality.  When this opportunity presented itself, I was ecstatic.   This particular course immediately caught my attention because Type II diabetes corresponds directly with optometry, as it is the leading cause of new cases of blindness in adults and can cause diabetic retinopathy, as well as increased risk of cataracts and glaucoma.  I am thrilled to have the chance to help the Bahamian people potentially prevent the onset of Type II diabetes, and I hope to really make an impact in the short time we are there.

I am thoroughly excited to have this amazing chance to study abroad and experience new things.  I am looking forward to being immersed in another culture fully and enjoying the beautiful weather and beaches.  I have never been scuba diving or snorkeling, so I am really excited to try both of those.  I can’t wait to see what will be learned from this trip and to start this new adventure!

