Introduction: Amelia Christy

Hey! My name is Amelia Christy and I’m a junior nursing major at Linfield College.  I love the outdoors and some of my favorite activities to do in my free time include skiing, kayaking, hiking, biking, and rock climbing.  There were two main reasons I chose to take this course in the Bahamas, the first being the fact that I get to spend time outside in January and it will be toasty and I also really want to experience health care in another country.  As a nursing student, I am always trying to get experiences in as many areas of the field as I can to try to figure out what my passion is. This trip to the Bahamas will also give me experience talking with people about chronic health issues and lifestyle choices, which will hopefully help me decide if that area of expertise is for me.  Other than that, I’m really looking forward to seeing what life is like on two of the islands in the Bahamas, teaching, snorkeling and hopefully having many spontaneous adventures on the side!

