Pendrey Trammell: Introduction

pendrey

Hello everyone! My name is Pendrey Trammell and I am from Corvallis, Oregon. I was born and raised in Corvallis, and moved to McMinnville to go to Linfield a year and a half ago. I have a younger sister who is fourteen years old and is my best friend. My parents are the best parents a girl could ask for.  We also have two adorable puppies and kitties.

I am currently a sophomore at Linfield with a Biochemistry and Molecular Biology major. The minute I stepped onto Linfield’s campus, I knew it was the school for me. It had such a welcoming atmosphere and it just seemed like one big family. Beyond that, Linfield also has a top-notch science program, which was a big factor for me in deciding where to go to school. I have always wanted to go into the medical field, and I knew that Linfield would give me the skills and education needed to make that dream a reality.

When I started to look at the study abroad opportunities available, Island Healthcare immediately caught my eye. I saw that it was focused on Type II diabetes and became even more interested. As I was researching diabetes and its connection with the Bahamas, I came across this blog and read several other health care sources on diabetes. In all this reading, I discovered that type II was a leading cause of blindness in the Bahamas. Optometry is one of my career path options, and this class relates to that in some capacity.

Beyond optometry, several other jobs as a medical doctor have a great deal of appeal to me. I have always wanted to have a career in which I can help people directly and see the benefits of my work directly in their lives. This class will give me the opportunity to do just that. I was so excited to read that we would be working directly with the people on the islands because I love getting the opportunity to help others and improve their quality of life. As we discussed what we would be doing while on the islands, I was thrilled that we would get to participate in various service projects as well. I think it is wonderful that we are going to have the opportunity to serve the people around us while experiencing a new culture.

Overall, I am extremely excited and grateful to be part of this class. Not only am I anticipating experiencing a new culture and scenery, I am also ready to be working with the people of the island to help reduce the risk of Type II and help manage the disease in people who have already developed it.

