Miranda Hire: Introduction

MHIRE

My name is Miranda Hire and I am a sophomore exercise science major (art minor) from Salem, Oregon. I decided to attend Linfield College because I liked the idea of a small liberal arts school where I could have a very well rounded educational experience, have a chance to participate in sports at the DIII level, and all while being able to stay close to home.

Growing up, I always envisioned myself coming to Linfield. My parents, Teresa and Doug Hire, are both Linfield alumni and actually met here on campus at the Dillin cafeteria. My brother, Aaron, recently graduated from Linfield and is now going to graduate school in Seattle. My family has participated in many clubs and activities while attending Linfield—my brother played football and was in the Hawaiian Club, my mother played soccer and was the advertising manager for the school newspaper, and my father was a star offensive lineman, also a member of the Hawaiian Club, and a member of the PKA fraternity. Although my family have graduated from Linfield, they still remain very involved with the college. My dad is the assistant athletic director and facilities coordinator, as well as the offensive line coach for the very prestigious football team. My mother owns a screen-printing business and spends additional time to make team gear and uniforms for some of Linfield’s athletics and clubs. And while my brother is busy with school, he will still come down from time to time to watch his old teammates on the football field.

Today, I am a member of the women’s soccer program, the Hawaiian club, and the Alpha Phi sorority. As an exercise science major and sport fanatic, I enjoy learning about the science of the human body, and hope to become an orthopedic surgeon when I finish all of my schooling. One of my favorite parts about the Linfield education is that I am able to also minor in something unrelated to my major: art. Art has always been one of my passions since I was a little girl, and at one point I almost decided to attend an art school in New York. I came to the conclusion that Linfield would be a better fit for me because I did not know for sure what I wanted to do as a career, and I could use Linfield’s liberal arts system to figure out my own path. I am happy that I chose this school; Linfield enabled me to pursue all of my dreams—playing soccer, creating art, and becoming a doctor.

I decided to apply for the Bahamas Jan-term course because I thought it was a perfect way to apply my major to the real world, and get a sense of what a doctor may have to do. I have heard endless good things about the studying abroad programs, and decided that I wanted to be a part of that experience. I absolutely love traveling to new places, and I thought what better way to incorporate my major with studying abroad than participating in the course targeted to help people? So far in this course, we have prepped to teach the Bahamian people about Type II Diabetes. This disease is a major problem and killer for the people of the Bahamas, and we want to share our education with them so that they can make the choice to improve their health. I am very excited to be a part of this course, and cannot wait to travel with this group of amazing people.

Overall, I am very fortunate to be able to attend such a fine school and participate in a variety of clubs and activities here on campus. I am looking forward to travelling to the Bahamas to gain a better perspective of the world, as well as to see what is in store for me the rest of my journey in life.

