David Lee: Introduction

david

My name is David Lee and I am currently studying nursing at Linfield College on the Portland campus. I spent four years at Linfield’s McMinnville campus working on a degree in Exercise Science. I chose Linfield College because of the small, close-knit atmosphere I experienced on my first visit. I am from a small town on the Oregon coast (Manzanita, OR) so I was attracted to Linfield because it wasn’t too big, it was close to home, and there is a great opportunity to study abroad. I didn’t get the chance to study abroad during my first four years at Linfield because of my participation in the men’s basketball program so I am very excited about being able to travel to the Bahamas this January.  I chose the exercise science major because I have always been interested in the body and how it works. Learning about how the body adapts to exercise and various environmental changes made my education worthwhile. Now that I’ve added nursing, I’ve been able to learn about the body in a different light by gaining an understanding of how it adapts to a number of diseases and illnesses that everyone will experience as we progress through life. I hope to specialize in cardiac nursing after I finish my degree and gain experience in the emergency department.

In my free time I enjoy all types of exercise including bicycling, running, hiking, all sports, surfing, snowboarding, etc. I also enjoy spending time with friends and family, meeting new people and trying new things. I am the middle child of three. I have an older brother who lives and works as an architect in Seattle and a younger sister who is also studying nursing at Linfield College. My mom and stepfather teach 6th grade at Neah-Kah-Nie middle school and my dad lives in Seattle where he works in management.

I am very excited about this trip to the Bahamas for many reasons. I cannot wait to explore another culture in great detail like we are about to do. I am most excited about the food, the language, and the style of the buildings and houses. What’s more important is the reason we are embarking on this trip. I cannot wait to meet the people of the Bahamas and teach them what I know about type II diabetes. It will be interesting to see if we can make an impact on the life of someone with diabetes. In the process I will learn much more about the disease and ways to educate all age groups about it. This will help me in my career as a nurse because I will be encountering diabetes on a daily basis. There are a few extracurricular activities that I am very excited for. A kayak camping trip and a few days in the capitol city are a couple of activities that I’ve been thinking about since the first meeting we had. I also plan on spending a good amount of time snorkeling and exploring the marine life of the Caribbean Sea and Atlantic Ocean!

