Hannah Langley: Introduction

Hannah

My name is Hannah Langley and I am 22 years old. I was born and raised in Corvallis, Oregon with my four siblings. Ever since I was a little girl I knew that I wanted to help other people and incorporate this in to my future career. I chose nursing after I watched my mom give birth to my little sister. I thought it was the co

olest thing in the world. My college plan was to attend Western Oregon University (WOU) and then apply to nursing schools and transfer into their nursing programs.

I finished my nursing pre-requisites and applied to the top three nursing programs in Oregon. Luckily all my hard work from the previous two years paid off and I got in to all three schools. From day one

Linfield was my first choice. I sent my confirmation to attend Linfield the very next day and now the rest is history. I am glad I decided to make the choice to attend Linfield. What I liked was the small classroom sizes and having instructors that knew me as a person and not a number like at bigger division one colleges.

The nursing campus is in Portland, Oregon and is a great place for people in their 20s to live. There are lots of things to do and many learning experiences regarding school and volunteer opportunities. I was very nervous my first year since I was one of seven transfer students but every one at Linfield made me feel included. I have made some of my best friends here in nursing school and do not regret for one minute my choice to become a nurse.

I chose this Jan term course because I thought it would help me learn the most in regards to my major. In my nursing clinicals I come across people with diabetes on a daily basis. I was intrigued to learn more and to work with a unique population that does not have the same access to health care that people in the U.S. have. I also wanted to work on my skills as an educator and this gives me the opportunity to learn how to teach others at all literacy levels. I cannot wait to leave for the Bahamas and meet everyone at the Island School. I am also excited to be working with and learning from Janet and Jay. They both have so much knowledge and I think I could benefit from working with both of them. Unlike most, I am a little sad to be leaving the cold weather but cannot wait to experience a new environment and culture.

