Taylor

Hi! My name is Taylor Lovell and I’m from the small eastern Oregon town of Pendleton. I am a nursing major at Linfield-Good Samaritan School of Nursing in Portland, OR. Portland is definitely a change from Pendleton, but I have adjusted well and really like living in the Portland area. I didn’t really know what I wanted to major in, so I went out on a limb and decided to follow in my mom’s footsteps and go to nursing school. So far, I think that it has been the right decision for me. I love all of my classes and feel like I’m pretty natural in some scrubs and a pair of Danskos! It has always been a goal of mine to study abroad. I wanted to take a semester to go to Costa Rica, but then decided that starting nursing school late was not what I wanted, so I decided not to go. The opportunity to study abroad during Jan Term was available, so I thought that I would give it a shot for this year. Not going to lie, the first thing that caught my eye about this trip was the fact that it was in the Bahamas- I mean, who wouldn’t want to be somewhere tropical like that during the winter! Another thing that was appealing to me about this study abroad opportunity was the fact that it is centered around diabetes education. I have been a diabetic for over 10 years, so I feel like I really relate to this class and can give some good insight to the locals that we will be working with. I am excited to be able to immerse myself in a different culture, and I hope that I can learn a lot about the Bahamian culture and their view on healthcare, as well as learn some new things about myself.

 

