Rosemarie

My name is Rosemarie Seifert and I’m currently a senior at Linfield College (finally!). I will be graduating with my Bachelors of Science in Nursing and become an RN. I chose nursing as a career back in high school when I went to work with my older sister who is also an RN. I was impressed with the nurse’s determination and ability to help others and knew that this career would give me the opportunity to work hands on with individuals and challenge me each day. Since working on various hospital floors during clinical rotations at Linfield I am confident that this is what I am supposed to do and am excited for what is to come.

In my spare time I enjoy being with friends and family. I currently live with my older sister and her husband in Portland, OR; an opportunity I am very thankful for. I have one other sister and a brother whom is married. I am the youngest in my family and have enjoyed every moment of it—okay, not every moment. My parents are some of the hardest working individuals I know; my mum makes wedding dresses and my father works for an insulation company more hours out of the week than there actually are. My parents have two dogs, and we have one at my house; a stubborn English bull dog. I enjoy spending time outdoors hiking, going out on the boat and boarding, or staying in and watching a movie with friends and family.

I am very excited for the opportunity to go to the Bahamas this January! Besides traveling to my mum’s hometown in England when I was 4, I haven’t been outside the US. I am looking forward to being emerged into a new culture and explore the Bahamian life style. Being a nursing major I am particularly excited to discuss diabetes and means of prevention to various age groups as the disease is significant in the Bahamas. I am so looking forward to creating new friendships on this trip and making many memories along the way.

