Closing Words – Allison

Allison at DCMS

This time in the Bahamas was a once in a life time experience that I will never forget. I feel so blessed that I was able to be a part of such a great program. Throughout the month we were able to experience many exploration things while also doing many academic activities. Our academic activities consisted of visits to the local schools to education the kids while also going to community groups to speak about diabetes. Our final academic endeavor was doing a wellness fair for the people, which ended up very successful! Our explorations were also a great time being able to go to beaches, meet locals, snorkel/scuba dive, kayak, camp and enjoying the outdoors.  I loved how the mixture of activities kept us busy and continually learning. The exploration activities were very unique and once in a life time experiences. I learned a lot about Type II Diabetes, the Bahamian culture, and about the Bahamas in general. I  would tell anyone, who is interested in health related things, to take this course because the hands on experience plus being immersed in a difference culture is something everyone should experience, and it makes people better well rounded. I learned a lot about myself. I learned that I can do anything I want to do and do it well if I try hard enough. I also learned that I love traveling and will continue for the rest of my life.

